Jan 25 2021
Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis

Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet with Wynton Marsalis

Presented by Mondavi Center, UC Davis at Online/Virtual Space

Led by trumpeter/composer Wynton Marsalis and featuring seven of jazz’s finest soloists, the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra Septet is a compact, but no less mighty, extension of the JLCO family. The evening will feature the premiere of  The Democracy! Suite, a new Marsalis composition written during the ongoing Covid-19 crisis as a response to the political, social, and economic struggles facing our nation. The Democracy! Suite  is a swinging and stimulating instrumental rumination on the issues that have recently dominated our lives as well as the beauty that could emerge from a collective effort to create a better future.

This concert was filmed on September 27, 2020 at Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City in accordance with the New York State Department of Health Interim Guidance on Media Production during the COVID-19 Emergency.

Wynton Marsalis, trumpet/music director
Elliot Mason, trombone
Ted Nash, alto saxophone and flute
Walter Blanding, tenor and soprano saxophones
Dan Nimmer, piano
Carlos Henriquez, bass
Obed Calvaire, drums
The Democracy! Suite

1) Be Present
2) Sloganize, Patronize, Realize, Revolutionize (Black Lives Matters)
3) Ballot Box Bounce
4) That Dance We Do (That You Love Too)
5) Deeper Than Dreams
6) Out Amongst the People (for J Bat)
7) It Come ‘Round ‘Gin
8) That’s When All Will See

Admission Info

General $15
UC Davis Student Free

Phone: (530) 285-0992

Email: tickets@ucdavis.edu

Dates & Times

2021/01/25 - 2021/01/25

Location Info

Online/Virtual Space