Sep 17 2020
-
Nov 15 2020
Table Top Shakespeare: At Home

Table Top Shakespeare: At Home

Presented by Mondavi Center, UC Davis at Online/Virtual Space

A salt and pepper pot for the king and queen. A vase for the prince. A matchbox for the servant. A kitchen table for a stage.

Originally conceived in 2015, in Complete Works six performers create condensed versions of all of the Shakespeare plays, comically and intimately retelling them, using a collection of everyday objects as stand-ins for the characters on the a stage made from a table top.

Complete Works has been performed in theater spaces across the world as well as being webcast to thousands of international viewers, however, while a global pandemic has shut down stages everywhere, the piece finds an intimate new life by ‘coming home’. Rather than a table set against the red drapes of a theater, the objects find their starting positions on Terry’s kitchen table or Jerry’s desk as if they’d just been taken down from the surrounding shelves and cupboards of each performers’ home.

Schedule:
-Thursday, September 17: Macbeth
-Friday, September 18: Pericles
-Saturday, September 19: The Merchant of Venice
-Sunday, September 20: A Midsummer Night’s Dream – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, September 24:  Romeo and Juliet
-Friday, September 25: King John
-Saturday, September 26: Titus Andronicus
-Sunday, September 27: Much Ado About Nothing – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, October 1: Hamlet
-Friday, October 2: Love’s Labour’s Lost
-Saturday, October 3: The Winter’s Tale
-Sunday, October 4: All’s Well That Ends Well – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, October 8: Richard II
-Friday, October 9: Henry IV, Part 1
-Saturday, October 10: Henry IV Part 2
-Sunday, October 11: Henry V – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, October 15: Henry VI, Part 1
-Friday, October 16: Henry VI, Part 2
-Saturday, October 17: Henry VI, Part 3
-Sunday, October 18: Richard III – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, October 22:  Measure for Measure
-Friday, October 23: Coriolanus
-Saturday, October 24: The Merry Wives of Windsor
-Sunday, October 25 (1pm): King Lear – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, October 29 (1pm): Twelfth Night
-Friday, October 30 (1pm): Cymbeline
-Saturday, October 31 (1pm): Julius Caesar
-Sunday, November 1: Antony and Cleopatra – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, November 5: Two Gentlemen of Verona
-Friday, November 6: Troilus and Cressida
-Saturday, November 7: As You Like It
-Sunday, November 8: Othello – followed by a post-show discussion
-Thursday, November 12: Taming of the Shrew
-Friday, November 13: The Comedy of Errors
-Saturday, November 14: Timon of Athens
-Sunday, November 15: The Tempest – followed by a post-show discussion

Admission Info

Gateway $60
Student $25
Mainstage $125
Orchestra $125
Encore $700

Phone: (530) 752-7354

Dates & Times

2020/09/17 - 2020/11/15

Location Info

Online/Virtual Space